About StrongMum

StrongMum’s fitness blog is developed and written by Jem Turner, a UK-based mum of two with a passion for strength.

In May 2014 I kicked out my then-partner of 12 years and started doing basic HIIT routines at home. I lost a little bit of weight and got bitten by the fitness bug, but failed to take it further.

Then, in April 2016 after a period of bad life luck I lost my oldest cat unexpectedly, and feeling bereft I spent three days sat in my pants weeping. By the end of day 3 I decided to pull myself together, to be strong. Mentally I was a wreck, so knew that I would have to be physically strong instead. I called a local free weights gym and went over for an induction session.

Several years later I visit the gym at least 3 days a week and I’m crushing PBs on a regular basis. In addition to my weight training, I run, participate in martial arts, and spent time learning to pole dance, play netball and generally move as much as possible. As an unexpected side effect my mental health is better than it’s ever been and I’m well equipped to deal with everything life throws at me.

Never underestimate the power of strong.


More about Jem

What do you do for a living?
I make websites. I am a freelance web developer based in Shropshire in the UK, and have been making websites for over 16 years. I specialise in WordPress development and work with clients both locally and nationally.

How old are you?
I was born in 1986, you do the maths :p

What are your goals?
I want to be strong, I want to be physically fit, and I want to be capable. Currently my main fitness goals are as follows:

Where do you train?
I have some basic barbell/dumbbell weights I use at home as well as regular training at Hercules Gym in Telford. I practice Taekwon-Do with Mr Morris, 5th Degree of Universal Martial Arts. I run with Broseley Joggers.

What sort of diet do you have?
I eat regular food, regularly. Lots of small meals with a good balance of carbs, protein and fats. In short, I cover half my plate in veg and split the other half between a lean protein source and carbs (pasta, rice, potatoes).

What supplements do you use?
I use MyProtein Impact Whey before a workout & Micellar Casein before bed. (Spend over £35 with MyProtein and use code JEM-R6 to get 30% discount at checkout.) I take magnesium and potassium 3 times a week min.

How do you fit in training, raising kids, work and everything else?
I workout when the kids are at school, I don’t watch TV, I do the bare minimum around the house (having low standards really helps) & I have a really, really understanding husband.

Got a question? Get in touch: hello@strongmum.com